The Baroque Towns

There are nine baroque towns inserted into the UNESCO list which constitute the Val di Noto. They are: Catania, Militello, Palazzolo Acreide, Noto, Modica, Scicli, Ragusa, and Caltagirone. These cover a large area, and we concentrate on the five most popular: Siracusa, Noto, Modica, Scicli and Ragusa, even though the Baroque legacy in Siracusa comes second to the classical city which is still visible.
Sicilia e Val di Noto

The rebuilding in the Sicilan baroque was a result of the earthquake of 1693, estimated by some to have been 10 on the Richter scale, which resulted in the devastation of the towns of the Val di Noto.